Site Navigation

Home Page
Contact Site\ Manager
Wogglebug Review

Dorothy and Ozma's Oz Chronology

Here is a list of all of the Oz/Oz-related stories by the authors of the official 40 Oz books. (Of course, there is no real authority on "official" Oz books!) Not ALL of the Oz books are in Public Domain, and looks like they won't be for quite a while. But here are links to the texts that ARE in public domain. Please note that not ALL books are considered "official," and some books are "Oz-related."

To the best of our knowledge, all texts offered here are in public domain. (If you have proof that some are not, please let us know!) Most of these books are also in print. As useful as the internet is, nothing compares to relaxing with a good book. Although you can read the books here, we think you should also get a printed copy.

We must also note that some of these stories contain language that might be considered as racial slurs today. In the interest of authenticity, we have not altered these parts, nor do they reflect the opinions of Dorothy and Ozma Productions.

At the bottom, there's links to Oz stories by the webmaster.

The series by L. Frank Baum...

  • The Life & Adventures of Santa Claus
    (1902) The life story of Santa Claus and how he came to be the immortal giver of gifts to children. Occurs in the very early history of the continent on which Oz is found. (Note: This book originally mentioned the Valley of Phunniland, which originated in "A New Wonderland." This book was later edited into "The Magical Monarch of Mo," so we have changed "Phunniland" to "Mo." In addition, the Gnome King has become the Nome King.)

  • The Runaway Shadows & Nelebel's Fairyland
    Two stories that happened some time during the early history of the continent where Oz is.

  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
    (1900) The very first Oz story, detailing Dorothy's first adventure in Oz.

  • The Magical Monarch of Mo
    (1900/1903) Thirteen tales of the Land of Mo (across the Deadly Desert from Oz) and how the people eventually got rid of the wicked Purple Dragon.

  • Dot & Tot of Merryland
    (1901) The story of how Dot Freeland and her friend Tot visited Merryland, which is across the Deadly Desert from the Land of Oz. (This is the ONLY completed e-text of this book online so far!)

  • The Marvelous Land of Oz
    (1904) The story of how Ozma of Oz was recovered and restored to the throne of the Emerald City.

  • The Queer Visitors From Oz
    (1904-05) Many stories of the Scarecrow and his friends during a visit to the United States of America. (This is the most complete collection of "Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz" material online.) Includes "The Woggle-Bug Book."

  • Queen Zixi of Ix
    (1905) The story of how Bud became King of Noland (a country across the Deadly Desert) and joined with Queen Zixi of Ix to defeat the Roly Rogues.

  • John Dough & the Cherub
    (1906) The story of how a giant gingerbread man named John Dough met Chick the Cherub and Para Bruin and how they became rulers of Hiland and Loland.

  • A Kidnapped Santa Claus
    The story of how Santa Claus was kidnapped.

  • Ozma of Oz
    (1907) How Dorothy returned to Oz and Ozma freed the Royal Family of Ev from the Nome King.

  • Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz
    (1908) How Dorothy and the Wizard met again and eventually returned to Oz.

  • The Road to Oz & "A Short, Short, Oz Story"
    (1909) Dorothy follows a magic road that takes her from Kansas to the World of Oz.

  • The Emerald City of Oz
    (1910) Dorothy, Aunt Em, and Uncle Henry decide to move to Oz as the Nome King plans revenge on Ozma.

  • The Sea Fairies
    (1911) Trot and Cap'n Bill are introduced and are made the guests of the mermaids. (Note: There was a word missing from this book that we have added here.)

  • Sky Island
    (1912) Trot and Cap'n Bill join Button-Bright on a journey to an island in the sky.

  • Little Wizard Stories of Oz
    (1913) Six short stories about our old friends in Oz.

  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz
    (1913) Ojo and Scraps, a girl made from an old patchwork quilt, seek the ingredients for an anitidote for the Liquid of Petrification.

  • Tik-tok of Oz
    (1914) Queen Ann Soforth of Oogaboo decides to conquer the world, starting with the Nome Kingdom!

  • The Scarecrow of Oz
    (1915) Trot and Cap'n Bill come to Oz to set the country of Jinxland to right.

  • Rinkitink in Oz
    (1916) Prince Inga of Pingaree and King Rinkitink of Gilgad set out to conquer the wicked rulers of Regos and Coregos.

  • The Lost Princess of Oz
    (1917) When Princess Ozma and most of the magic treasures of Oz dissappear, Dorothy and her friends go to look for them.

  • The Tin Woodman of Oz
    (1918) The Tin Woodman, joined by Woot the Wanderer and the Scarecrow, search for Nimee Aimee, the Tin Woodman's long-lost love.

  • The Magic of Oz
    (1919) A young Munchkin boy learns a magic word that lets him make transformations.

  • Glinda of Oz
    (1920) Dorothy and Ozma set out to make peace between the Flatheads and the Skeezers.

    We're sorry, but some of the non-Baum books are not yet formatted. We apologize. We are working at it, though.

    By Ruth Plumly Thompson...

  • The Royal Book of Oz
    (1921) The Scarecrow tries to discover his origin, but finds a secret country in the process.

  • Kabumpo in Oz
    (1922) Prince Pompadore and Kabumpo try to save Pumperdink, but wind up having to save all of Oz first!

  • The Cowardly Lion of Oz
    (1923) A little orphan boy and a clown go to Oz to try to catch the Cowardly Lion.

  • Grampa in Oz
    (1924) Prince Tatters is off on a quest so he can marry a princess!

  • The Lost King of Oz
    (1925) We discover the true fate of Pastoria, Ozma's father and the King of Oz before the Wizard's arrival.

  • The Hungry Tiger of Oz
    (1926) The Hungry Tiger is called to Rash to devour the prisoners.

  • The Curious Cruises of Captain Santa
    (1926) Santa Claus is off to find new Christmas presents!

  • The Gnome King of Oz
    (1927) Peter of Philedelphia is made a pawn by the old (Gn/N)ome King.

  • The Giant Horse of Oz
    (1928) A creation of Mombi's creates trouble at last.

  • Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz
    (1929) Oz is in trouble, and only Jack Pumpkinhead can save the day!

  • The Yellow Knight of Oz
    (1930) Sir Hokus of Pokes sets out for adventure!

  • Pirates in Oz
    (1931) Captain Salt and Peter and Pigasus must save Oz from the (Gn/N)ome King again!

  • The Purple Prince of Oz
    (1932) Prince Randy of Regalia proves his right to Royalty!

  • Ojo in Oz

  • Speedy in Oz

  • The Wishing Horse of Oz

  • Captain Salt in Oz

  • Handy Mandy in Oz

  • The Silver Princess in Oz

  • Ozoplaning with the Wizard of Oz

  • Yankee in Oz

  • The Enchanted Island of Oz

  • The Cheerful Citizens of Oz (Poetry)

    By John R. Neill (The Royal Illustrator of Oz)...

  • The Wonder City of Oz

  • The Scalawagons of Oz

  • Lucky Bucky in Oz

  • A Runaway in Oz

    By Jack Snow...

  • The Magical Mimics in Oz

  • The Shaggy Man of Oz

    By Rachel R. Cosgrove...

  • The Hidden Valley of Oz

  • The Wicked Witch of Oz

  • Percy and the Shrinking Violets

  • Spots in Oz

    By Eloise Jarvis McGraw and Lauren McGraw Wagner...

  • Merry Go Round in Oz

  • The Forbidden Fountain of Oz

  • The Rundelstone of Oz

    Stories by Jared Davis... coming soon!